Advisory Group

Home / Advisory Group

Who and Why?

SHEFS must ensure that its disciplinary research is of the highest quality and that it employs the best approaches to interdisciplinary research. At the same time, in order to be relevant beyond academia, SHEFS must engage with and promote its outputs across a diverse spectrum of scientific, policy and national communities.

SHEFS Advisory Group Members

The following are currently members of the Advisory Group (the SHEFS Management Committee has agreed to consider further members if new specialist needs emerge as the project develops, and in consultation with the Advisory Group):

Professor Jeff Waage

(Advisory Group Chair), Chair, Leverhulme Centre for Integrative Research on Agriculture and Health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, London, UK

Dr Victor Ajieroh

Senior Programme Officer, Nutrition, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria

Professor Sir Charles Godfray

Director, Oxford Martin Programme on the Future of Food, Oxford University, Oxford, UK

Find out more >

Professor Dame Anne Johnson

Chair, UCL Population and Lifelong Health Domain, and Member, Board of Governors, Wellcome Trust, University College London, London, UK

Find out more >

Dr John McDermott

Director, CGIAR Research Program on Agriculture for Nutrition and Health, International Food Policy Research Institute, Washington DC, USA

Find out more >

Professor Belinda Reyers

Director, Guidance for Resilience in the Anthropocene: Investments for Development, Stockholm Resilience Centre, Stockholm, Sweden

Find out more >

Dr Souyma Swaminathan

Deputy Director-General for Programmes, WHO (World Health Organization)

Find out more >